My Stand-Up Comedy challenge – Part Two Approaches

I’ve gone and done it!

I’ve arranged to return to London on 21 May to complete part Two of my Stand-up comedy challenge! Part One was a weekend course where I learnt to move a mic without it falling over, got to spout rubbish, found out about set-up punch and had a go at writing and delivering it.

Part Two will involve doing a 3 minute slot in front of an audience, instead of just the other members of the course, at Up The Creek, in Greenwich. Only friends and family of course members are invited, and I’m very pleased that my friend Sharon, who lives in London is going to come. She’s also volunteered to film my debut, so provided it doesn’t go too badly, I’ll be able to post that film. I kind of hope the film is all shaky because she’s laughing…

I wanted to complete the challenge on a personal level to show myself and others I could do it. But also, if I don’t complete it, then the scenes in The Dare Club where my character Colette takes to the stage won’t be so authentic.

I’ve been very inspired by peoples’ reactions to me doing this too – so thank you, everyone!

ImageMy empty stage awaits!

Here’s one of my gags to be going on with. (All lies, by the way, and I hope you don’t mind its moderately saucy nature).

One of my ex-husband was a trombone player. It was exhausting. He was in out, in out, all the time.

http://www.margaretkjohnson.co.uk

Facebook: Margaret K Johnson Author

goddess_6-compressed[1] (3)

3 thoughts on “My Stand-Up Comedy challenge – Part Two Approaches

  1. First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thanks!

    • Thanks for your nice comments! Actually I don’t think 10-15 minutes is very long! I probably spend 30 minutes on emails or Twitter etc before I really get stuck in. But lately I’ve been writing in my notebook early in the morning with my first cup of coffee then typing it up later. Works for me! 🙂 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

