Bit-part baby in sex-change drama

Those of you who follow this blog will know that my new novel The Dare Club was published earlier this week. Yay! Whoop whoop! Hurrah! OK, sorry about that. I’ll calm down now.

Image

Click on the image to buy from Amazon

Everything went very smoothly… until a bit-part baby almost scuppered my target of publishing it on Monday. The said baby obviously objected to having such a small part in the book – it makes a great deal of noise before casually kicking a leftover piece of croissant off a plate.

To try to ensure it was remembered, the baby had the temerity to change its sex! I know! Fortunately, no messy operations were involved, as I expect you’ll be relieved to hear – after all, the sex change took place in a café, and nobody wants to be put off their food.

Image

Anyway, all’s well now. Grace has been brought under control and renamed George. Alas, he still makes a noise, and Emma, my character still loses her croissant, but I can’t help that. It’s part of the story – order a spare croissant next time, Emma! The amazing thing is that as well as myself, 2 beta readers, a proofreader, a reviewer and my cat all read drafts of the book. And none of them spotted spot Grace trying to grab a bigger slot for herself. I guess you can look and look at something until you can’t see it anymore. Either that or you can be so caught up in the story that nothing can drag you out of it. Yes, that sounds good. Let’s go with that.

Have you ever noticed anything that’s slipped through an editor’s net in a book that you’ve read? Do comment and let me know.

Oh, and before I go, just to let you know that the Kindle version of my previous novel – The Goddess Workshop – is on offer until 11pm on Sunday 1 December for 99p. Grab yourself a bargain!

www.margaretkjohnson.co.uk

Image

One thought on “Bit-part baby in sex-change drama

  1. Oh my goodness! Apologies!!!! As you say, I was obviously caught up in the scene and didn’t pay attention to the small player in it.

    As for noticing errors in published books, I’ve found plenty but don’t keep tabs so can’t tell you which books and when, but I assure you they are there and often they are books published by big name publishers.

Leave a Reply

