Plunging into Cuba

I’m about to plunge into research about Havanna and Cuba in order to write some scenes for my upcoming novel, Taming Tom Jones. I visited Cuba in 2001, and had an amazing adventure holiday there, so I’ve already got some insight into the country. On that holiday I made a good friend – Sharon, who lives in London. Sometimes you meet people you just hit it off with right away – Sharon is one of these people. We met up last Thursday before I went to The London Author Fair on Friday, and it was great to catch up – we always have lots of laughs! This time, with the scenes I was about to write in mind, I turned the conversation to Cuba – and we shared lots of memories about the holiday we had there – the sights we saw and the experiences we had. And the silly pranks we played, including making ‘Castro moustaches’ out of fluffy catkin seeds stuck onto double-sided sticky tape. We dared each other to wear them and to pretend nothing was different. Strangely, it took people quite a while to comment! Daft, but great fun at the time – we laughed so much we cried.

I wish I had a photo I could show you, but that was before the digital age. Anyway, as I began my research yesterday, I came across these amazing images of Cuban murals of older people – I loved them because they really seemed to celebrate older people, and to suggest that they are respected. How wonderful!

selection_cuba-1003342selection_cuba-1003274

Leave a Reply

