A Winter Ghost Walk and a Call to Action

The other evening I went on a ghost walk in the old part of Norwich with friends. It had seemed like a good idea when I was invited to go – Manin Black, who leads the walks, is a well known character in the city with his black coat and top hat, and to have him and his evocative tales all to ourselves for an exclusive tour would be a fun way to start February.

manin black

Ah, February. A part of me had forgotten that February evenings can be a teensie bit on the cold side, to say the least. We stoked up beforehand on ale and cake in the Adam and Eve, the oldest pub in Norwich, and at least it had stopped sleeting when we left its cosy quaintness to start our walk with Manin. 

adam and eve

The Adam and Eve, by the way, is haunted by the ghost of Lord Sheffield, who had his neck partially severed by an irate butcher with a cleaver during Robert Kett’s Rebellion in 1549. Mortally wounded, he was taken to the Adam and Eve, and here he died. These days he spends his time causing the beer tankards to dance on their hooks, tapping people on the shoulder and running fingers through their hair. He’s also known to remove personal items and return them again the following day. I’m quite glad I didn’t know about any of this while we were having our pre-walk drink.
before the #ghost walk - getting #confidenceDid I encounter any ghosts on my walk? Did my hair stand on end with terror? To find out, and to read the rest of this blog post, please go to:

http://www.margaretkjohnson.co.uk/blog/a-winter-ghost-walk-in-norwich

In future, I will mostly be blogging from there, since it seemed to make more sense to blog directly from my website. I do hope you will continue to follow my blog if you already do so, or start following if you’re a newcomer! I really appreciate your support and interest, and it would be good to keep in touch! Just click on Subscribe once you’ve opened the link.

Thank you so much!

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

